Info

RAMBLE SONG – 2021

With Ramble Song – a cinematic concert or concertante film – BERLIN propels music (a driving foundation in earlier work) and the cinematic into the foreground. A poetic ramble full of beauty but also disappointment unravels in a series of tableaux. Ramble Song meanders between melancholy and black humour, inspired by the figure of the drifter ­– the nomad who cultivates a form of indecisiveness and who lurks in each of us.

Onstage there is a theatrical installation. This organism in sleep mode, with something that resembles a continuously audible and visible respiration, is animated through live music and footage. The soundtrack is wide-ranging, featuring echoes of new-classical music but also energetic krautrock and a diversity of synth-driven soundscapes. The daily noise between our ears here gives way to a musical universe that gets crystallized in images – and vice versa.

Ramble Song features four musicians and one of its creators onstage, fired up by BERLIN’s in-house composer. Peter Van Laerhoven made a name for himself as a film composer [for Fien Troch and Bram Van Paesschen, among others] and rock and pop musician [Monsoon and Woven Hand, among others]. He has been creating BERLIN’s soundscape from the very beginning. He will be assisted live by Tim Coenen [Miet Warlop, Het nieuwstedelijk, The Go Find, Roadhouse Libra,..], Eric Thielemans [EARR, Chantal Acda, Tape Cuts Tape, Ben Sluijs Quartet, BERLIN's Jerusalem and Remember The Dragons,..] and Tine Hubrechts [o.a. The Bear That Wasn’t]. The performance will be accompanied by a physical [vinyl] and digital release of the music.

Ramble Song differs from earlier work in formal terms, but is vintage BERLIN in terms of inventive puzzling with (presentation) forms to achieve a powerful whole. The profound humanity that characterized previous, often documentary work is taken even further in this fictional work, averse to the anecdotic and to dominant storylines.

photo: serie 6 © Koen Broos

Photo

Video and audio

Credits

concept and direction BERLIN [Bart Baele and Yves Degryse] actors film Luk Sponselee,
Menno De Schrijver,
Michel Van Looveren,
Jane Seynaeve,
Anthe Baele,
Jasper Meuris,
Ester Van Nuffel,
Ninke De Roeck,
Mo Franken,
Sigrid Desplentere,
Jérôme Gouardères,
Jaak Fremault,
more to be confirmed
video and video editing Bart Baele and Geert De Vleesschauwer scenography Manu Siebens and BERLIN
musical composition Peter Van Laerhoven musicians Peter Van Laerhoven,
Tine Hubrechts,
Eric Thielemans and Tim Coenen [live & film],
Mo Franken,
Ester Van Nuffel and Ninke De Roeck [film]
photography Koen Broos graphic design Corbin Mahieu
costumes Jessica Ridderhof and Jane Seynaeve make-up Jane Seynaeve and Saskia Verreycken
technical coordination Manu Siebens and Geert De Vleesschauwer sound Arnold Bastiaanse,
Bas De Caluwe,
Maarten Moesen and Karel Verstreken
production management Jessica Ridderhof production BERLIN
business management Kurt Lannoye administration Jane Seynaeve
sales Eveline Martens communications Sam Loncke
thanks to Florine Schaap,
Regul Bogaert,
Tamara Esseling,
Charlotte Willems,
Lars Senders,
Peter De Haan Uitvaartservice,
De Studio (Antwerpen,
BE),
J&M Catering and Bart De Muynck
Coproductions
deSingel international arts campus [Antwerp, BE], le CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR] and C-TAKT [Limburg, BE] with the support of the Flemish Government and the City of Antwerp BERLIN is creative associate at deSingel international arts campus [Antwerp, BE] and artiste associé at le CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR]

Press

Info

RAMBLE SONG – 2021

Avec Ramble Song, un concert filmique ou un film concertant, BERLIN catapulte la musique – une strate sous-jacente et flottante dans ses productions précédentes – au premier plan, au même titre que l’aspect filmique. Dans une série de tableaux s’amorce un vagabondage poétique émaillé de beauté, mais aussi de déception. Ramble Song oscille entre mélancolie et humour noir et s’inspire du personnage du vagabond – le nomade qui cultive une forme d’indécision et qui sommeille en chacun de nous.

Sur scène, une installation théâtrale : cet organisme assoupi, avec ce qui ressemble à une respiration continue que la vue et l’ouïe peuvent percevoir, s’anime à la faveur de musique interprétée sur scène et d’images cinématographiques. La bande sonore couvre un large éventail allant d’échos de musique nouvelle, mais tout autant de krautrock endiablé et de paysages sonores divers et variés portés par des synthés. Le bruit de fond quotidien cède la place à un univers musical qui se cristallise en images et vice versa.

On retrouve quatre musiciens et un des créateurs du spectacle, tous stimulés par le compositeur attitré de BERLIN : Peter Van Laerhoven. Celui-ci s’est forgé une renommée en tant que compositeur de musiques de film [entre autres, par ses collaborations avec Fien Troch et Bram Van Paesschen] et musicien rock et pop [entre autres, avec les groupes Monsoon et Woven Hand]. Van Laerhoven contribue depuis le tout début à colorer l’univers sonore de BERLIN. Il sera accompagné de Tim Coenen [e.a. Miet Warlop, Het nieuwstedelijk, The Go Find et Roadhouse Libra], Eric Thielemans [e.a. EARR, Chantal Acda, Tape Cuts Tape, Ben Sluijs Quartet et  Jérusalem de BERLIN] et Tine Hubrechts [e.a. The Bear That Wasn’t]. Parallèlement au spectacle sortiront un vinyle et une version numérique de la bande sonore.

Si Ramble Song adopte une forme différente des précédentes productions, cela reste du BERLIN pur jus : un astucieux puzzle de formes [de présentation] pour aboutir à un ensemble très puissant. Dans cette pièce fictionnelle, le côté profondément humain qui caractérise les productions précédentes, souvent du genre documentaire, est encore davantage décortiqué, loin de tout aspect anecdotique ou de lignes narratives dominantes.

photo: serie 6 © Koen Broos

Photo

Vidéo et audio

Credits

Distribution en cours Conception et direction BERLIN [Bart Baele et Yves Degryse]
Vidéo Bart Baele,
Geert De Vleesschauwer et Jessica Ridderhof
Montage Bart Baele et Geert De Vleesschauwer
Scénographie Manu Siebens et BERLIN Composition musicale Peter Van Laerhoven
Musique en live et musique de film Peter Van Laerhoven,
Tine Hubrechts,
Eric Thielemans en Tim Coenen
Photographie Koen Broos
Coordination technique Manu Siebens et Geert De Vleesschauwer Chargée de production Jessica Ridderhof
Production BERLIN Administrateur Kurt Lannoye
Administration Jane Seynaeve Diffusion Eveline Martens
Communication Sam Loncke
Coproductions
deSingel international arts campus [Anvers, BE], le CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR], C-TAKT [Limbourg, BE] et plus à confirmer Avec le soutien de le gouvernement flamand, le tax-shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge [Podiumfonds] BERLIN est creative associate au deSingel international arts campus [Anvers, BE] et artiste associé au CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR]

Presse