Info

THE MAKING OF BERLIN – 2022

7 July 2016. Not long after a Zvizdal performance during the Berliner Festspiele BERLIN’s Bart Baele and Yves Degryse bump into a plucky 90-year-old German. They chat in the foyer and immediately become fascinated with the man’s life story. Telephone numbers are exchanged. A couple of chats and as many weeks later the two decide to make him the centre of a show: a dyed-in-the-wool Berliner who, for years, worked as orchestra stagemanager for the Berliner Philharmoniker.

The making of Berlin tells the story of a man with an exceptional track record who would love to travel back in time to finish an unfinished chapter of his life. BERLIN helps him reenact and make this unfulfilled dream come true. That’s the idea anyway. Soon, however, cracks appear in his story, and a spanner is thrown in the works.

The show is the final part in the Holocene Cycle, the framework within which BERLIN has been making city portraits over the course of 15 years. After Jerusalem, Iqaluit, Bonanza, Moscow and Zvizdal comes this last segment that takes place in the city of Berlin. The making of Berlin is another intriguing narrative with live musicians on stage, true-to-life stories and documentary images.

photo © Koen Broos

Photo

Video and audio

Credits

concept and direction BERLIN [Bart Baele and Yves Degryse] text Yves Degryse
with [film] Friederich Mohr,
Martin Wuttke,
more tbc
supporting actors [film] Claire Hoofwijk,
Alejandro Urrutia,
Marek Burák,
Caroline Große,
Marvyn Pettina,
Farnaz Emamverdi,
more tbc
video and video editing Geert De Vleesschauwer and Fien Leysen internship video editing Maria Feenstra
drone shots Yorick Leusink and Solon Lutz documentary series making of Fien Leysen
scenography Manu Siebens set design film Jessica Ridderhof,
Klaartje Vermeulen,
Ruth Lodder and Ina Peeters
musical composition Peter Van Laerhoven music [film] Symfonisch Orkest Opera Ballet Vlaanderen
mixing orchestra Maarten Buyl sound recordings Bas De Caluwé,
Maarten Moesen and Bart Vandebril
technical coordination Manu Siebens and Geert De Vleesschauwer production management Jessica Ridderhof
production assistance germany Danielle Schwabe and Gordon Schirmer casting germany Cornelius Puschke
assistance casting germany Lisa Homburger internship research Annika Serong
production BERLIN business management Kurt Lannoye
administration Jane Seynaeve sales Eveline Martens
communications Sam Loncke thanks to Clem Robyns
Coproductions
deSingel international arts campus [Antwerp, BE], le CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR], Opera Ballet Vlaanderen [BE], Vooruit [Ghent, BE], C-TAKT [Limburg, BE], Theaterfestival Boulevard [Den Bosch, NL] with the support of the Flemish Government, Tax Shelter of the Belgian federal government via Flanders Tax Shelter - BERLIN is associated artist at DE SINGEL [Antwerp, BE] and artiste associé at le CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR]

Press

Info

THE MAKING OF BERLIN – 2022

Berlin, le 7 juillet 2016. Dans le foyer du théâtre, juste après une représentation de Zvizdal dans le cadre du festival Berliner Festspiele, Bart Baele et Yves Degryse du groupe BERLIN rencontrent un homme énergique de 90 ans avec lequel ils engagent la conversation. D’emblée fascinés par le parcours de vie incroyable de cet homme, ils échangent leurs numéros de téléphone. Quelques semaines et conversations plus tard, les deux décident de consacrer un spectacle à ce Berlinois pur-sang qui était le régisseur d’orchestre du Berliner Philharmoniker.

The making of Berlin est le récit d’un homme au destin exceptionnel et qui aimerait plus que tout remonter dans le temps pour clôturer un chapitre inachevé de son existence. BERLIN l’épaule dans la reconstitution de son parcours et dans la réalisation de son rêve inexaucé. C’est du moins leur intention. Très vite cependant, le récit de l’homme présente des failles et le plaisir est gâché.

Le spectacle est le dernier volet du cycle Holocène, au sein duquel BERLIN a brossé pendant plus de 15 ans des portraits de ville. Après Jerusalem, Iqaluit, Bonanza, Moscow et Zvizdal, vient à présent l’épilogue, qui se déroule à Berlin. The making of Berlin porte une fois de plus à la scène un récit intrigant, accompagné par des musiciens, des histoires vraies et des images documentaires.

photo © Koen Broos

Photo

Vidéo et audio

Credits

conception et direction BERLIN [Bart Baele et Yves Degryse] texte Yves Degryse
avec [film] Friederich Mohr,
Martin Wuttke,
Krijn Thijs,
plus à confirmer
figurants [film] Claire Hoofwijk,
Alejandro Urrutia,
Marek Burák,
Caroline Große,
Marvyn Pettina,
Farnaz Emamverdi,
plus à confirmer
vidéo et montage Geert De Vleesschauwer et Fien Leysen droneshots Yorick Leusink et Solon Lutz
stage montage Maria Feenstra série documentaire making of Fien Leysen
scénographie Manu Siebens scénographie film Jessica Ridderhof,
Klaartje Vermeulen,
Ruth Lodder et Ina Peeters
composition musicale et mixage Peter Van Laerhoven musique [film] Symfonisch Orkest Opera Ballet Vlaanderen
mixage orchestre Maarten Buyl enregistrements sonores Bas De Caluwé,
Maarten Moesen et Bart Vandebril
coordination technique Manu Siebens et Geert De Vleesschauwer chargée de production Jessica Ridderhof
assistanat production allemagne Danielle Schwabe et Gordon Schirmer casting allemagne Cornelius Puschke
assistanat casting allemagne Lisa Homburger stage research Annika Serong
production BERLIN administrateur Kurt Lannoye
administration Jane Seynaeve diffusion Eveline Martens
communication Sam Loncke remerciements Clem Robyns
Coproductions
deSingel international arts campus [Anvers, BE], le CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR], Opera Ballet Vlaanderen [BE], Vooruit [Gand, BE], C-TAKT [Limbourg, BE], Theaterfestival Boulevard [Den Bosch, NL] avec le soutien de le gouvernement flamand, le tax-shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge via Flanders Tax Shelter BERLIN est associated artist au DE SINGEL [Anvers, BE] et artiste associé au CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR]

Presse