Info

TRUE COPY – 2018

'The only one who never gets any recognition is the forger. Unless he is unmasked.' Geert Jan Jansen in Perhaps All The Dragons

On May 6 1994 the gendarmes break into Geert Jan Jansen’s French country estate, where they find more than 1600 works by the likes of Picasso, Dali, Appel, Matisse and Hockney. Striking detail: most of them have actually been painted by the Dutchman. For more than twenty years, Jansen has managed to fool the art world, so convincingly so that Picasso and Appel themselves unwittingly provided certificates of authenticity for his creations.

To this day, museums worldwide have been exhibiting four works by Geert Jan which nobody would single out as forgeries. A spelling mistake eventually lays bare Geert Jan’s illicit activity, and a German superintendent catches him. He becomes an overnight sensation and one of the most famous art world swindlers.

After BERLIN’s Perhaps All The Dragons (in which Geert Jan makes his first appearance as one of the thirty story tellers) True Copy puts him centre stage. Over the years, and in the shadow of the masters, he has been perfecting his skill. Geert Jan’s work and life is a constant balancing act on the tightrope between fiction and reality, in the permanent hope of not tumbling down. He is a perfect protagonist, whose story far exceeds the realm of the personal.

In this new component of the Horror Vacui series, BERLIN puts Geert Jan himself on stage. The internal cogwheels that keep this complex man ticking act as a manual for laying bare – amongst other things – the hypocrisy inside the art world. What does truthfulness really mean? And isn’t it much more refreshing to go along with a beautifully packaged lie?

In this new production, BERLIN use their idiosyncratic style to merge two different worlds and realities on stage. Together with the protagonist, they put the finger on a festering open sore in the art world. By the same token they also tell the universal story of one man who tries to hold his own inside a web of lies – or variations on the truth.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

selection TheaterFestival 2019. From the jury report:
One of the most surprising performances of the year comes from theatre group BERLIN. [..] At the same time, True Copy is much more than just interesting documentary theatre. BERLIN uses Jansen's story to create a clever, witty and meticulously elaborated reflection on what is genuine and fake, on reality and fiction, on distrust and belief. True Copy [plays] a fascinating game with the audience at the level of the performance: to what extent can we believe everything Jansen is telling here, or are we being set up by BERLIN? [..] This performance is logically thought-out to the end!

--------------------------------------------------------------------

★★★★★ 'In ‘True Copy’, BERLIN makes magnificent use of the reality of Dutch art forger Geert Jan Jansen.' – NRC

★★★★ 'As Jansen said, ‘Sometimes it’s just delightful to be deceived.'' – De Standaard

★★★★ 'Ingeniously staged, philosophically probing caper about a true-life master art forger.' The Stage

★★★★ '[..] this deceptively artful show leaves you dazzled by the overlaps between great art and great fakery.' The Times

★★★★★ 'The brain-frazzling thrill of True Copy, alongside the story it tells engagingly and with humour, is delivered by the stunning twists and turns it throws in.' – The Arts Desk

 

photo © Koen Broos

Photo

Video and audio

Credits

Concept and direction BERLIN [Bart Baele and Yves Degryse] With Geert Jan Jansen
Assistant Geert Jan Jansen Luk Sponselee Video BERLIN,
Geert De Vleesschauwer,
Jessica Ridderhof and Dirk Bosmans
Video editing BERLIN,
Geert De Vleesschauwer and Fien Leysen
Musical composition and mixing Peter Van Laerhoven
Live mixing Arnold Bastiaanse or Hans De Prins Piano Govaart Haché
Cello Katelijn Van Kerckhoven Sound recordings Bas De Caluwé and Maarten Moesen
Set design Manu Siebens,
Ina Peeters and BERLIN
Light design Barbara De Wit
Technical coordination Manu Siebens and Geert De Vleesschauwer Technical assistance Rex Tee
Trailer and teasers Fien Leysen and BERLIN Photography Koen Broos
Production management Celeste Driesen and Jessica Ridderhof Production BERLIN
Business management Kurt Lannoye Administration Jane Seynaeve
Distribution Eveline Martens Communications Sam Loncke
Thanks to Saskia Verreycken,
Diana Boro,
Geert Jan Jansen for his help in preparations,
rehearsals and performances
Coproductions
deSingel international arts campus [Antwerp, BE], le CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR], Het Zuidelijk Toneel [Tilburg, NL], Brighton Festival [UK], C-TAKT [Limburg, BE], Theaterfestival Boulevard [Den Bosch, NL], PACT Zollverein [Essen, DE] With the support of the Flemish Government, Tax Shelter of the Belgian federal government (Podiumfonds) - BERLIN is creative associate at deSingel international arts campus [Antwerp, BE] and artiste associé at le CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR]

Press

Info

TRUE COPY – 2018

'Le seul à ne jamais jouir de reconnaissance est le faussaire. Sauf s’il est démasqué.' Geert Jan Jansen dans Perhaps All The Dragons

Le 6 mai 1994, les gendarmes font irruption sur le domaine de Geert Jan Jansen en France et y découvrent plus 1 600 oeuvres de grands maîtres comme Picasso, Dalí, Appel, Matisse et Hockney. Un détail frappant : la plupart de ces toiles se révèlent avoir été peintes par le Néerlandais. Pendant plus de vingt ans, Geert Jan Jansen a mené le monde de l’art en bateau et de manière tellement convaincante que Picasso et Appel, sans se douter de rien, ont allègrement signé des certificats d’authenticité pour des oeuvres de sa facture.

À ce jour, quelques tableaux de sa main sont encore accrochés aux cimaises de musées du monde, sans que quiconque se doute qu’il s’agit en fait de contrefaçons de Geert Jan Jansen. Une faute d’orthographe dans un certificat qu’il rédige pour une oeuvre réalisée « dans le style de Chagall » lui assène le coup de grâce. Appréhendé par un commissaire de police allemand, il devient du jour au lendemain l’un des escrocs les plus célèbres du monde de l’art.

Après le spectacle Perhaps All The Dragons… de BERLIN, dans lequel Geert Jan Jansen apparaît déjà comme l’un des trente narrateurs, True Copy lui offre la scène à lui tout seul. Dans l’ombre des grands maîtres, il perfectionne son savoir-faire au fil des années. La vie et l’oeuvre de Geert Jan Jansen sont un exercice d’équilibre quotidien sur la corde raide entre fiction et réalité, espérant sans cesse ne pas dégringoler. Un protagoniste rêvé dont le récit transcende l’hémisphère personnel.

Dans ce nouveau volet de la série Horror Vacui, BERLIN invite Geert Jan Jansen en personne sur les planches. Le rouage interne d’un homme complexe comme toile de fond pour lever le voile, entre autres, sur l’hypocrisie du mondede l’art. Quelle valeur a la vérité ? N’est-il pas plus rafraîchissant parfois de pouvoir se laisser entraîner dans un mensonge gracieusement conçu ?

Dans ce nouveau spectacle, BERLIN recourt à son style caractéristique pour faire fusionner différents univers et réalités sur scène. Avec son protagoniste, BERLIN met le doigt sur quelques plaies béantes du monde de l’art, mais présente aussi l’histoire universelle d’un homme enveloppé dans un tissu de mensonges – ou de variations sur la vérité – qui tente de rester debout.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

sélectionné pour Le TheaterFestival 2019. D'après le rapport du jury:
L'un des spectacles les plus surprenants de l'année vient du groupe de théâtre BERLIN. [..] En même temps, True Copy est beaucoup plus que du théâtre documentaire intéressant. BERLIN utilise l’histoire de Jansen pour une réflexion intelligente, spirituelle et minutieusement élaborée sur le réel et le faux, sur la réalité et la fiction, sur la méfiance et la conviction. True Copy [joue] un jeu passionnant avec le public au niveau de la performance: dans quelle mesure pouvons-nous croire tout ce que Jansen raconte ici, ou se faisons nous avoir par BERLIN? [..] Réflexion conséquente jusqu’au bout, cette performance!

--------------------------------------------------------------------

★★★★ 'Comme le dit Jansen : ‘Parfois, il est simplement merveilleux d’être trompé.'' – De Standaard

★★★★★ 'Pour leur nouvelle production, True Copy, BERLIN évoque magistralement la réalité du faussaire néerlandais Geert Jan Jansen. Un héros culte. Un filou.' – NRC

'BERLIN porte à la scène une version brillamment équilibrée de l’histoire de Jansen. La compagnie prouve qu’il est possible d’aborder des sujets graves au théâtre de manière ludique et avec beaucoup d’humour. ' – Theaterkrant (en néerlandais)

'Le Groupe BERLIN [..] revient avec leur nouvelle œuvre surprenante comme les précédentes : True Copy. [..] Toute la soirée est ainsi pimentée par des histoires extraordinaires.' – Balagan, le blog de Jean-Pierre Thibaudat / Mediapart

'Mêlant l’humour et le sérieux comme il entrelace le vrai et le faux, avec le même plaisir et la même décontraction, le faussaire questionne l’espace théâtral sans avoir besoin de le formuler.' – Scèneweb

'Il s’agit d’interroger, au sens que lui donne Georges Didi-Huberman, ce qu’est le regard : « Regarder n’est pas une compétence, c’est une expérience. » Telle pourrait être le sous-titre de True copy.' Théâtre du blog

photo © Koen Broos

Photo

Vidéo et audio

Credits

Concept et direction BERLIN [Bart Baele et Yves Degryse] Avec Geert Jan Jansen
Assistant Geert Jan Jansen Luk Sponselee Vidéo BERLIN,
Geert De Vleesschauwer,
Jessica Ridderhof et Dirk Bosmans
Montage BERLIN,
Geert De Vleesschauwer et Fien Leysen
Composition musicale et mixage Peter Van Laerhoven
Mixage en live Arnold Bastiaanse ou Hans De Prins Piano Govaart Haché
Cello Katelijn Van Kerckhoven Enregistrements sonores Bas De Caluwé et Maarten Moesen
Scénographie Manu Siebens,
Ina Peeters et BERLIN
Conception lumières Barbara De Wit
Coordination technique Manu Siebens et Geert De Vleesschauwer Assistance technique Rex Tee
Trailer et teasers Fien Leysen et BERLIN Photographie Koen Broos
Chargées de production Celeste Driesen et Jessica Ridderhof Production BERLIN
Administrateur Kurt Lannoye Administration Jane Seynaeve
Diffusion Eveline Martens Communication Sam Loncke
Remerciements Saskia Verreycken,
Diana Boro,
Geert Jan Jansen pour son collaboration aux préparations,
répétitions et performances
Coproductions
deSingel international arts campus [Anvers, BE], le CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR], Het Zuidelijk Toneel [Tilbourg, NL], Brighton Festival [UK], C-TAKT [Limburg, BE], Theaterfestival Boulevard [Den Bosch, NL], PACT Zollverein [Essen, DE] Avec le soutien du gouvernement flamand, le tax-shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge (Podiumfonds) BERLIN est creative associate au deSingel international arts campus [Anvers, BE] et artiste associé au CENTQUATRE-PARIS [FR]

Presse