Lisboa

Bart Baele & Yves Degryse

A portrait of a city told in tiles unfolds along the walls of its houses and pavements. BERLIN takes the audience through the heart of one of the oldest cities on earth.

LISBOA will tell the story of Senhor do Adeus [João Manuel Serra], a well known character on the streets of Lisbon. He waved at passers-by - cars and pedestrians – to remedy his loneliness. For ten years he stood at
Saldanha and became so popular that eventually it was no longer clear who waved to whom: he at the passers-by or passers-by at him. When he died in November 2011, hundreds of Portuguese came out on the streets and waved to remember him.

BERLIN wants to make Senhor do Adeus wave again by designing a facade with his effigy on one of the seven hills on which the city of Lisbon is built. The original idea to remodel a facade on each of these hills, was (partly for budgetary reasons) reduced to this artistic intervention.

In partnership with Alkantara Festival, atelier Escritorio Editora and the city of Lisbon BERLIN wants to give a homage to Senhor do Adeus [the Gentleman of Farewell]. This is made possible by our crowdfunders, donors and by the Flemish Culture Prize for the Performing Arts, which was awarded to BERLIN by Minister Sven Gatz in 2016. The accompanying envelope will be fully invested in the Lisbon project.

update November 2020 - cancellation project

We fought long and hard for the LISBOA project. The budget had been finalised, the design was ready and our team was eager to carry it out. Unfortunately, however, the crucial permissions were not obtained. The bureaucratic path turned out to be full of twists and turns and eventually the negotiations were forced to come to a stop. To our great regret, the Senhor will only wave to the city in the memory of those who once saw him in person.

Lisboa

Bart Baele & Yves Degryse

[demain est peut-être un meilleur jour pour s'en aller]

Un portrait d’une ville qui se raconte à coups d’azulejos le long des murs de ses immeubles et de ses pavages. BERLIN emmène le public au coeur de l’une des plus anciennes villes de la terre.

LISBOA racontera l'histoire de Senhor do Adeus [João Manuel Serra], un personnage célèbre dans les rues de Lisbonne. Il saluait les passants de la main - automobilistes et piétons - comme remède contre la solitude. Dix ans durant, sur Saldanha. Il est devenu si populaire que finalement il n’était plus clair qui saluait qui: si lui saluait les passants, ou si les passants le saluaient. Quand il est mort en novembre 2011, des centaines de Portugais sont descendus dans la rue pour lui faire un dernier salut de la main.

BERLIN souhaite à nouveau voir la main de Senhor do Adeus s’agiter pour saluer les passants en créant une façade à son effigie sur l'une des sept collines sur lesquelles la ville de Lisbonne est construite. L'idée originale de transformer une façade sur chacune de ces collines, a été réduite à cette intervention artistique (en partie pour des raisons budgétaires).

En partenariat avec le Festival Alkantara, atelier Escritorio Editora et la ville de Lisbonne BERLIN veut rendre homage au Senhor do Adeus [Gentleman of Farewell]. Ceci est rendu possible par nos crowdfunders, les donateurs et par le Prix Flamand de la Culture des Arts du Spectacle, attribué à BERLIN en 2016 par le ministre Sven Gatz. L'enveloppe accompagnante sera entièrement investie dans le projet Lisbonne.

mise à jour novembre 2020 - annulation projet

Nous nous sommes battus longtemps et durement pour le projet LISBOA. Le budget était prêt, la conception était là et une équipe était impatiente de l'exécuter. Cependant, les autorisations essentielles n'ont malheureusement pas été obtenues. La voie bureaucratique s'est avérée plus longue et plus tortueuse que prévu et les négociations ont finalement dû être interrompues. À notre grand regret, le Senhor ne saluera la ville qu'en mémoire de ceux qui l'ont vu en personne.